(+91 484) 410 0010 (+91 484) 238 0521 Call us for quick booking & enquiry
  • Wayanad Tourist Attractions, Tourist Places in Wayanad, Popular Places in Wayanad
Kerala Wildlife


India, Kerala, Wayanad

Wayanad District in the north-east of Kerala, India, was formed on 1 November 1980 as the 12th district by carving out areas from Kozhikode and Kannur districts. Kalpetta is the district headquarters as well as the only municipal town in the district. The region was known as Mayakshetra (Maya’s land) in the earliest records. Mayakshetra evolved into Mayanad and finally to Wayanad. The folk etymology of the word says it is a combination of Vayal (paddy field) and Naad (land), making it ‘The Land of Paddy Fields’. There are many indigenous tribals in this area. It is set high on the Western Ghats with altitudes ranging from 700 to 2100 m.

Unlike all other 13 districts of Kerala, in Wayanad district, there is no town or village named the same as the district i.e., there is no “Wayanad town”.

Wayanad is the only district in Kerala that shares a border with both the neighboring states of Karnataka and Tamil Nadu.

Translate »